

To: Members of the County Council Date: 4 September 2013

Direct Dial: 01824712589

e-mail: dcc\_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

**Dear Councillor** 

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 10 SEPTEMBER 2013 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

### **AGENDA**

#### 1 APOLOGIES

### 2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

## 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

## 4 CHAIRMAN'S DIARY (Pages 5 - 8)

To note the civic engagements undertaken by the Chairman of the Council (copy enclosed).

# **5 MINUTES** (Pages 9 - 26)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of the County Council held on 9<sup>th</sup> July, 2013 (copy enclosed).

# 6 INVESTIGATORS REPORT ON THE FLOODS AT GLASDIR, RUTHIN (Pages 27 - 138)

To consider a report by the Senior Engineer, Flood Risk Management (copy enclosed) to inform Members of the findings of the independent investigation into the flooding of the Glasdir Estate, Ruthin.

# **7 BUDGET UPDATE** (Pages 139 - 148)

To consider a report by the Chief Accountant (copy enclosed) to provide an update of the latest budget position for 2014/2015 and to approve the saving proposals.

## **8 PAY POLICY STATEMENT** (Pages 149 - 168)

To consider a report by the Chief Executive (copy enclosed) to approve the Pay Policy Statement drafted in accordance with the requirements of 38(1) of the Localism Act 2011.

# 9 CONSULTATION RESPONSE TO THE COMMISSION ON PUBLIC SERVICE GOVERNANCE AND DELIVERY (Pages 169 - 206)

To consider a report by the Chief Executive (copy enclosed) to consider the draft response to the Commission, and whether to submit the same as the council's formal response to the call for evidence.

## 10 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 207 - 210)

To consider the Council's Forward Work Programme (copy enclosed).

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

### Councillors

Ian Armstrong
Raymond Bartley
Brian Blakeley
Joan Butterfield
Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones
Bill Cowie
Ann Davies

Gwyneth Kensler Geraint Lloyd-Williams Margaret McCarroll Jason McLellan Barry Mellor Win Mullen-James Bob Murray

Prif Weithredwr / Chief Executive Mohammed Mehmet PhD BSc
Prif Swyddfeydd Y Cyngor/Council Offices, Rhuthun/Ruthin, Sir Ddinbych/Denbighshire LL15 1YN.
Ffôn/Tel (01824) 706234 Ffacs/Fax (01824) 707446

James Davies **Meirick Davies** Richard Davies **Stuart Davies** Peter Duffy **Hugh Evans** Peter Evans Bobby Feeley Carys Guy

**Huw Hilditch-Roberts** 

Martyn Holland Colin Hughes Rhys Hughes Hugh Irving Alice Jones **Huw Jones** Pat Jones

Peter Owen Dewi Owens Merfyn Parry Paul Penlington **Arwel Roberts** Gareth Sandilands **David Simmons** Barbara Smith David Smith Bill Tasker

Julian Thompson-Hill

Joe Welch Cefyn Williams Cheryl Williams **Eryl Williams Huw Williams** 

## **COPIES TO:**

Press and Libraries **Town and Community Councils**